Exploring the Differences Between CISSP and CISMP


Certifications are critical in confirming workers’ experience and skills in information security. Two well-known cybersecurity qualifications are a certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) and Certificate in Information Security Management Principles (CISMP). Both certificates have tremendous industry significance and are highly sought after by aspiring security experts. In this blog, we’ll understand the significant distinctions between CISSP vs CISMP, including their emphasis areas, qualifying requirements, and CISM Certification.

Table of Contents 

  • CISSP Certification 
  • CISMP Certification 
  • Exam Format and Duration 
  • Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Requirements 
  • Conclusion 

CISSP Certification 

(ISC)2’s CISSP is a worldwide recognised certification aimed at experienced security practitioners, managers, and executives. Security and risk management, asset security, security architecture and engineering, communication and network security, identity and access management, security assessment and testing, security operations, and software development security are all covered in the CISSP curriculum. The CISSP certification emphasises a comprehensive information security approach that includes technical and administrative components. 

Candidates for the CISSP certification must have at least five years of paid work experience in at least two of the eight CISSP areas. On the other hand, candidates with a four-year degree or a recognised certificate can receive a one-year experience waiver, decreasing the needed experience to four years. 

The CISSP certification holds great significance in the field of cybersecurity and is often regarded as a benchmark for experienced security professionals. CISSP certification holders are recognised for their knowledge in a variety of security fields, making them qualified for positions such as security consultant, security manager, security analyst, security auditor, and chief information security officer (CISO). The CISSP certification certifies individuals’ ability to plan, execute, and manage a solid information security programme and opens doors to a variety of job options. 

CISMP Certification 

The British Computer Society (BCS) provides the CISMP certification, designed for those new to the information security field. Basic information security principles, risk management, security controls, legal and regulatory requirements, security policies, and incident management are all covered in the CISMP programme. The CISMP certification training is intended to provide candidates with a basic understanding of information security ideas and practices. 

The CISMP is suited for those with little or no prior knowledge of information security. The CISMP certification has no specific experience requirements, making it accessible to ambitious security professionals just starting out. 

If you’re looking to build a career in information security, it may be worth considering getting certified with CISMP. It provides a solid foundation in information security concepts and practises, qualifying qualified professionals for entry-level positions such as information security officer, security analyst, security administrator, and risk analyst. The CISMP certification is a great way to enhance your career and specialise in the subject of information security. 

Exam Format and Duration 

The CISSP exam consists of 100-150 multiple-choice and advanced innovative questions. The questions are designed to test candidates’ knowledge across the eight CISSP domains. The exam is administered in English, and candidates have three hours to complete it. To pass the CISSP exam, candidates need to achieve a scaled score of 700 out of 1000 points. 

The CISMP exam comprises 50 multiple-choice questions, and candidates are required to achieve a minimum of 65% to pass. The exam duration is one hour, and it is conducted in a closed-book format. The CISMP exam assesses candidates’ understanding of foundational information security principles and practices. 

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Requirements 

Certified CISSP professionals must retain their certification by participating in the (ISC)2 Continuing Professional Development (CPD) programme. This programme requires a minimum of 40 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits every year, with a total of 120 CPE credits required for a three-year certification cycle. Attending security conferences, writing security-related publications, and participating in security training programmes are all ways to gain CPE points. 

As part of the BCS Professional Certifications policy, CISMP-certified professionals are encouraged to participate in CPD activities to further their knowledge and abilities. Attending security webinars, engaging in information security seminars, and obtaining more cybersecurity certifications are examples of CPD activities. 

Certified Information Systems Security Professionals (CISSP) are dedicated to remaining current in the rapidly changing field of cybersecurity. CISSP-certified professionals are obliged to engage in the (ISC)2 Continuing Professional Development (CPD) programme to guarantee the continual improvement of their knowledge and abilities. The CPD programme is intended to foster an environment of continuous learning and growth among CISSP holders. 


The cybersecurity business may benefit from both the CISSP and CISMP certificates, but they cater to various degrees of competence and career objectives. The CISSP certification, which addresses a variety of security challenges, is created for seasoned workers looking for senior-level employment. The CISMP, on the other hand, offers a fundamental grasp of security principles and is perfect for people who are new to information security. Depending on the person’s experience, desired level of skill in the sector, and career goals, they should choose the appropriate cybersecurity certification.